Maxine Chernoff

Maxine Chernoff
Advisor, Thesis Reader
Available by Appointment
(415) 338-2019
Building: HUM
Room Number: 422
Office Hours: 
Monday: 10:00 am-12:00 pm
Tuesday: 11:00 pm-2:00 pm


Maxine Chernoff is a professor of the Creative Writing program at San Francisco State University and a 2013 NEA Fellow in poetry.  She is the author of six books of fiction and fourteen books of poetry. Of Among the Names (Apogee Press, 2005), Cole Swenson said, “exploring complexities of “the gift,” Chernoff’s is an economy of the uncanny—each exchange is strikingly new.” Her recent books of poetry are Here (Counterpath, 2014), Without (Shearsman, 2012), To Be Read in the Dark (Omnidawn, 2012)  A House in Summer (Argotist, 2012, online edition), and The Turning (Apogee Press, 2008).  Her collection of stories, Signs of Devotion, was a New York Times Notable Book of 1993. Both her novel American Heaven (Coffee House Press, 1996)  and her book of short stories, Some of Her Friends That Year (Coffee House Press, 2002), were finalists for the Bay Area Book Reviewers Award.  With Paul Hoover, she translated The Selected Poems of Friedrich Hölderlin, (Omnidawn Press, 2008), which received the 2009 Pen U.S.A. Translation Award. She has read her poetry and fiction  and taught workshops in Belgium, England, Australia, Germany, Brazil, Scotland, and China and in the Prague Summer Writing Program, and the SLS Writing Seminars in St. Petersburg, Russia. She was an International Visiting Scholar at the University of Exeter, England, in January of 2013.  She has edited the long-running and award-winning journal New American Writing, an annual anthology, which is partially funded by the College of Liberal & Creative Arts.  She has been a fiction reviewer for the New York Times, The Chicago Tribune, and The Chicago Sun-Times. Among her other awards are five Illinois Arts Council Fellowships, a Marin Arts Council Fellowship, a PEN Fiction Prize, the Carl Sandburg Award in Poetry, The Chicago Sun-Times Book Award, the Friends of American Writers Fiction Award, an Editor's Award from the Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines and Presses, and a Foreword Book Award for her novel A Boy in Winter.