Advisors and Schedules

Faculty Academic Advisors

Advising for Fall begins Monday August 29th, 2022. If you need advising help over the summer, please reach out to cwriting@sfsu.edu and you will be directed to the available advisor.

Looking for class schedules? Try the Class Schedule - SF State University (sfsu.edu), or review our Creative Writing Class Schedule page for department specific information.

Academic Advisors
Name Email Room Phone Office Hours Genre
Michelle Carter mcarter@sfsu.edu HUM 562 (415) 338-7402 Monday 3 - 4 p.m. online and by appointment.  Playwriting
Nona Caspers ncaspers@sfsu.edu HUM 268  

Monday 3:15 - 4:30 p.m. virtual or in person. Tuesday 3:15 - 5 p.m. in person, and available by email and appointment. Please email ncaspers@sfsu.edu for a new Zoom link or try  Prof. Casper's Zoom link

Fiction
Joseph Cassara josephcassara@sfsu.edu HUM 550   Thursday 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. or by appointment.  Creative Nonfiction, Fiction
May-lee Chai chai@sfsu.edu HUM 563 (415) 338-1102 Wednesday 11 - 1 p.m. via Zoom or by appointment  Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Translation
Maxine Chernoff chernoff@sfsu.edu HUM 422 (415) 338-2091 Tuesday 10 - 12 p.m. via Zoom or by appointment.  Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Carolina De Robertis caro@sfsu.edu HUM 349 (415) 338-1550 On leave for Fall 2022. Fiction, Literary Translation
Tonya M. Foster tmfoster@sfsu.edu HUM 260   Tuesday 12:30 – 2:30 p.m. or by appointment.  Poetry
Paul Hoover viridian@sfsu.edu HUM 447 (415) 338-3157

Available Tuesday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. and Thursday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. Please email    viridian@sfsu.edu to arrange Zoom appointment.

Literary Translation, Poetry
Andrew Joron ajoron@sfsu.edu HUM 233 (415) 338-6915 Tuesday 1-2 p.m. in HUM 233 or remotely by appointment.  Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Michael David Lukas mdlukas@sfsu.edu HUM 365 (415) 
338-
6986
Tuesday 2 - 4 p.m. or online by appointment. Fiction
Chanan Tigay tigay@sfsu.edu HUM 545 (415) 338-3155 Wednesday 2 - 4 p.m. and by appointment. Advising available by phone or email. Please email tigay@sfsu.edu to arrange an advising appointment by phone. Creative Non-fiction, Fiction

Please note: B.A. students: Application for Award of Baccalaureate Degree review and signatures available from all of the above professors.

 

Adjunct Faculty

Course Duty Advising
Name Email Phone Room Office Hours Courses/Duties (as applicable)
Nancy Au nau1@sfsu.edu     Online, Tuesday 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. C W 606.01
Ben Black bblack@mail.sfsu.edu (415) 338-3079 HUM 275 Tuesday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. C W 810.01 Contemporary World Fiction
Gretchen Cion gcion@mail.sfsu.edu HUM 275 Monday 2:45 p.m. - 3:45 p.m.  C W 101.02
Matthew Clark  Davison davison@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Available by Zoom, Tuesday 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. & Thursday 11 - 12 p.m. and by arrangement. 

B.A. Advising,   C W 101.06, C W 101.07, C W 807.01

Donna De La  Perrière donnadlp@sfsu.edu Please
email
HUM 561 Monday & Wednesday 8:30 - 9:30 p.m. virtually by arrangement. C W 101.05, C W 601.01, C W 803.01
Steve Dickison steved@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3401
HUM 511 Thursday 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. or by arrangement. C W 302.02
Kirsten Dualan kdualan@mail.sfsu.edu HUM 275 Monday 11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.  C W 301.01
Anne Galjour agaljour@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3081
HUM 364 Tuesday 3:30 - 5 p.m. in person and Wednesday 1 - 3:30 by arrangement (both virtual and in person may be available)

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/86083184318?pwd=ZlpZOHpodzlyQjBRYkFaSUYrSkNqZz09

Password: meeting

C W 101.03, C W 602.01, C W 675.01, C W 875.01, C W 882.01

Kelly Gilbert KellyLoyGilbert@sfsu.edu     Online, Thursday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m.  C W 807.01
Billy Gong wgong@mail.sfsu.edu HUM 561 Monday 10:45 - 11:45 a.m.  C W 101.01
Junse Kim junsekim@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Tuesday 3 - 4 p.m. for C W 640 Transfer Magazine; Wednesday 3 - 4 p.m. for C W 880.03 Earning Dramatic Emotion; Thursday 3-4 p.m. for C W 603 Short Story C W 603.01, C W 640.01, C W 880.03
Peter Nachtrieb peter.nachtrieb@gmail.com (415) 338-1680 TBA Monday 3 - 4 p.m. C W 855.01

 

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates
Name Phone Room Email Office Hours Duties
Fourteen Hills (415) 338-3083 HUM 373 hills@sfsu.edu   Literary Magazine
Jane George (415) 338-1810 HUM 574 jgeorge1@sfsu.edu Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Fiscal, Class Scheduling, Scholarships, Faculty assistance
Katherine Kwid - Creative Writing Department Office (415) 338-1891 HUM 573

kkwid@sfsu.edu

cwriting@sfsu.edu

Monday - Thursday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. HUM 573, Remote Friday 9 - 5 p.m.

Front Office, Reception, Website, Student Petitions/Forms

Poetry Center (415) 338-2227 HUM 512 poetry@sfsu.edu   RSO, Poetry Readings, Archives
Transfer (415) 338-3148 HUM 372 transfermagazine@gmail.com   Literary Magazine

Please Note:

During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom.  Reach out to us for continued support!