Advisors and Schedules

Faculty Academic Advisors

Advising for Spring begins Monday January 31st, 2022.

Looking for class schedules? Try the Class Schedule - SF State University (sfsu.edu), or review our Creative Writing Class Schedule page for department specific information.

Academic Advisors
Name Email Room Phone Office Hours Genre
Michelle Carter mcarter@sfsu.edu HUM 562 (415) 338-7402 Available for Zoom or phone advising by email arrangement. Playwriting
Nona Caspers ncaspers@sfsu.edu HUM 575 (415) 338-2039

Wednesday 4 - 6 p.m. & Thursday 10 -  12 a.m. Please email ncaspers@sfsu.edu for a new Zoom link, or try  Prof. Casper's Zoom link

Fiction
Joseph Cassara josephcassara@sfsu.edu HUM 550   Advising available by phone or email. Please email josephcassara@sfsu.edu to arrange a phone advising appointment. Creative Nonfiction, Fiction
May-lee Chai chai@sfsu.edu HUM 563 (415) 338-1102 On leave for Spring 2022. Please email Anne Galjour for Graduate Advising, agaljour@sfsu.edu Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Translation
Maxine Chernoff chernoff@sfsu.edu HUM 422 (415) 338-2091 On leave for Spring 2022. Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Carolina De Robertis caro@sfsu.edu HUM 349 (415) 338-1550 On leave for Spring 2022. Fiction, Literary Translation
Tonya M. Foster tmfoster@sfsu.edu HUM 260   Tuesday 2:30 – 3:30 p.m. by appointment, and Wednesday 11 - 12 p.m. by appointment. Poetry
Paul Hoover viridian@sfsu.edu HUM 447 (415) 338-3157

Available Tuesday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. and Thursday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. Please email    viridian@sfsu.edu to arrange Zoom appointment.

Literary Translation, Poetry
Andrew Joron ajoron@sfsu.edu HUM 233 (415) 338-6915 Wednesday 1-2 p.m. in HUM 233, or remotely by appointment.  Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Michael David Lukas mdlukas@sfsu.edu HUM 365 (415) 
338-
6986
Tuesday 2 - 4 p.m. Fiction
Chanan Tigay tigay@sfsu.edu HUM 545 (415) 338-3155 Tuesday 9 - 11 a.m. Advising available by phone or email. Please email tigay@sfsu.edu to arrange an advising appointment by phone. Creative Non-fiction, Fiction

Please note: B.A. students: Application for Award of Baccalaureate Degree review and signatures available from all of the above professors.

 

Adjunct Faculty

Course Duty Advising
Name Email Phone Room Office Hours Courses/Duties (as applicable)
Nancy Au nau1@sfsu.edu TBD TBD Wednesday 3 - 4 p.m. C W 302.02
Neha Bagchi nbagchi@mail.sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3079
HUM 275 Wednesday 10:30 - 11 a.m. and by appointment. C W 101.01
Luke Dani Blue lukedani@mail.sfsu.edu     Tuesday 6 - 7 p.m. C W 880.01
Matthew Davison davison@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Available by Zoom, Thursday 8 - 9 a.m. & 3 - 4 p.m. and by appointment. 

B.A. Advising,   C W 101.06, C W 512GW.01, C W 675.01/875.01, C W 860.01

Donna De La  Perrière donnadlp@sfsu.edu Please
email
HUM 561 Tuesday 5:30 - 6 p.m., Thursday 5:30 - 6 p.m. and by appointment. C W 507.01, C W 511GW.01, C W 520/820, C W 601.01
Steve Dickison steved@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3401
HUM 511 Thursday 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. or by arrangement. C W 550.01, C W 850.01
Anne Galjour agaljour@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3081
HUM 364 Tuesday 12 - 3 p.m. or by appointment.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/86083184318?pwd=ZlpZOHpodzlyQjBRYkFaSUYrSkNqZz09

Password: meeting

Graduate Coordinator & C W 600.01, C W 825.01, C W 605.01

Amanda Kim akim25@sfsu.edu
(415) 
338-
3079
HUM 275 Monday 11:15 - 12:15 p.m. Online. C W 852.01
Junse Kim junsekim@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Monday: 11:25-12:25 CW 880 Discovery and Development
3:20-3:55 for CW 603 Short Story Writing
Tuesday: 3:00-4:00 CW 640 Transfer Magazine
Thursday:11:25-12:25 CW 803 Advanced Short Story Writing 
C W 603.01, C W 640.01, C W 853.01, C W 880.02
Laurie K. Olson lolson1@mail.sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
1680
HUM 561 Monday 3 - 4 p.m. Online. C W 101.04
London Pinkney lpinkney@mail.sfsu.edu (415) 338-3079 HUM 275 Tuesday 3:30 - 4:30 p.m. C W 301.01
Julia Shackleford jshackel@mail.sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
1680
HUM 561 Wednesday 7 - 8 p.m. on campus, or by appointment. C W 101.08

 

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates
Name Phone Room Email Office Hours Duties
Fourteen Hills (415) 338-3083 HUM 373 hills@sfsu.edu   Literary Magazine
Jane George (415) 338-1810 HUM 574 jgeorge1@sfsu.edu Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Fiscal, Class Scheduling, Scholarships, Faculty assistance
Katherine Kwid - Creative Writing Department Office (415) 338-1891 HUM 573

kkwid@sfsu.edu

cwriting@sfsu.edu

Monday - Thursday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. HUM 573, Remote Friday 9 - 5 p.m.

Front Office, Reception, Website, Student Petitions/Forms

Poetry Center (415) 338-2227 HUM 512 poetry@sfsu.edu   RSO, Poetry Readings, Archives
Transfer (415) 338-3148 HUM 372 transfermagazine@gmail.com   Literary Magazine

Please Note:

During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom.  Reach out to us for continued support!