Advisors and Schedules

Faculty Academic Advisors

Advising for Spring begins Monday January 30th, 2023. If you need advising help over the summer, please reach out to cwriting@sfsu.edu and you will be directed to the available advisor.

Looking for class schedules? Try the Class Schedule - SF State University (sfsu.edu), or review our Creative Writing Class Schedule page for department specific information.

Academic Advisors
Name Email Room Phone Office Hours Genre
Michelle Carter mcarter@sfsu.edu HUM 562 (415) 338-7402 Monday 10 a.m. - noon online and by appointment  Playwriting
Nona Caspers ncaspers@sfsu.edu HUM 268  

Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m., Thursday 3:30 - 5 p.m. by email arrangement. Please email ncaspers@sfsu.edu for a new Zoom link or try  Prof. Casper's Zoom link

Fiction
Joseph Cassara josephcassara@sfsu.edu HUM 550    Wednesday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. or by appointment Creative Nonfiction, Fiction
May-lee Chai chai@sfsu.edu HUM 563 (415) 338-1102 To be determined Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Translation
Maxine Chernoff chernoff@sfsu.edu HUM 422 (415) 338-2091 On Leave for Spring 2023 Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Carolina De Robertis caro@sfsu.edu HUM 349 (415) 338-1550 Monday 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (HUM 349), Wednesday 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. (virtual) Fiction, Literary Translation
Tonya M. Foster tmfoster@sfsu.edu HUM 260   Tuesday 2 – 3:30 p.m. or by appointment  Poetry
Paul Hoover viridian@sfsu.edu HUM 447 (415) 338-3157

Available Tuesday 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. 

Literary Translation, Poetry
Andrew Joron ajoron@sfsu.edu HUM 233 (415) 338-6915 Wednesday 11 a.m. - 12 p.m. in HUM 233 or remotely by appointment Fiction, Literary Translation, Poetry
Michael David Lukas mdlukas@sfsu.edu HUM 365 (415) 
338-
6986
Tuesday 1 - 3 p.m. or by appointment Fiction
Chanan Tigay tigay@sfsu.edu HUM 545 (415) 338-3155 Wednesday 5 - 7 p.m. and by appointment Creative Non-fiction, Fiction

Please note: B.A. students: Application for Award of Baccalaureate Degree review and signatures available from all of the above professors.

 

Adjunct Faculty

Course Duty Advising
Name Email Phone Room Office Hours Courses/Duties (as applicable)
Gretchen Cion gcion@mail.sfsu.edu   HUM 561 Wednesday 10 - 11 a.m. via Zoom. 

Prof. Cion's  Zoom link
Passcode: 021468 

 
Matthew Clark  Davison davison@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Available by Zoom, Tuesday 8 a.m. - 10 a.m. and by arrangement. 

B.A. Advising,   C W 101.04, C W 101.05

Donna De La  Perrière donnadlp@sfsu.edu Please
email
HUM 561 Tuesday 5:30 - 7 p.m., Thursday 3 - 3:30 p.m. & 8:30 - 9:30 p.m.  C W 507.01, C W 511.01GWAR, C W 601, C W 820
Steve Dickison steved@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3401
HUM 511 Thursday 3 - 4 p.m. or by arrangement. C W 301.02
Quinn Fairchild qfairchild@sfsu.edu   HUM 275 Tuesday 11 - 12 p.m.  C W 
Anne Galjour agaljour@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3081
HUM 364

Thursday 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Prof. Galjour's Zoom link
Password: meeting

C W 302.01, C W 600.01, C W 605.01, C W 825.01

Billy Gong wgong@mail.sfsu.edu HUM 561 Tuesday 3 - 4 p.m.  C W 640.01
Junse Kim junsekim@sfsu.edu (415) 
338-
3084
HUM 451 Tuesday 3 - 4 p.m. for C W 640 Transfer Magazine; Wednesday 3 - 4 p.m. for C W 880.03 Earning Dramatic Emotion; Thursday 3 - 4 p.m. for C W 603 Short Story C W 603.01, C W 803.01, C W 880.03
Robert Pina robertpina99@gmail.com   HUM 275 Tuesday 4 - 5 p.m. C W 101.01

 

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates

Staff, Magazines and Campus Affiliates
Name Phone Room Email Office Hours Duties
Fourteen Hills (415) 338-3083 HUM 373 hills@sfsu.edu   Literary Magazine
Jane George (415) 338-1810 HUM 574 jgeorge1@sfsu.edu Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Fiscal, Class Scheduling, Scholarships, Faculty assistance
Katherine Kwid - Creative Writing Department Office (415) 338-1891 HUM 573

kkwid@sfsu.edu

cwriting@sfsu.edu

Monday - Thursday 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. HUM 573, Remote Friday 9 - 5 p.m.

Front Office, Reception, Website, Student Petitions/Forms

Poetry Center (415) 338-2227 HUM 512 poetry@sfsu.edu   RSO, Poetry Readings, Archives
Transfer (415) 338-3148 HUM 372 transfermagazine@gmail.com   Literary Magazine

Please Note:

During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom.  Reach out to us for continued support!